image/svg+xml Map of the European Higher Education Area (EHEA) Map of the European Higher Education Area (EHEA) A blank map of the European Higher Education Area (EHEA) and countries fully surrounded by the EHEA. Every country has an id which is its ISO-3116-1-ALPHA2 code in lower case. Members of the EU have a class="eu", all EHEA countries have a class="europe", non-EHEA countries have a class="nonehea". Image based on by Júlio "Tintazul" Reis and Marian "maix" Sigler. Made by Colin Tück, EQAR, 2017 Released under CreativeCommons Attribution ShareAlike (
  • Governmental membership
    Hungary has been a Governmental Member of EQAR since January 2021.

    Read more: all Governmental Members of EQAR

  • General information on higher education

    Higher education institutions in Hungary include state and non-state universities, universities of applied sciences and colleges.

    Non-state institutions can be founded by churches, business organizations or foundations and are listed in the Annex of the Higher Education Act. Only organisations that are included in the list can provide higher education.

  • National external quality assurance requirements

    The ministry responsible for higher education (Ministry for Innovation and Technology) is supported by the Educational Authority (Oktatási Hivatal) and the Hungarian Accreditation Committee (Magyar Felsőoktatási Akkreditációs Bizottság) in the monitoring and evaluation of higher education.

    • Accreditation of higher education institutions
      are carried out in five-year cycle. The initial accreditation of new institutions involves programme accreditation as well, since new institutions must have at least four programmes running.

    • Programme accreditation in disciplinary clusters
      conducted for specific fields at the request of the Ministry.

    • Accreditation of doctoral schools
      up to five years. The doctoral degree is defined in the Higher Education Act and is awarded by the doctoral councils of universities.

  • Cross-border quality assurance

    In Hungary higher education institutions may choose a suitable EQAR-registered agency.

    • Eligibility requirements for foreign agencies: According to the Higher Education Act, the higher education institutions may choose a quality assurance agency that works in line with the ESG for the establishment of doctoral schools and in cases involving the launch of a bachelor, master or tertiary vocational programme. The Hungarian Accreditation Committee (HAC) may also considers institutional accreditations by EQAR-registered agencies as equivalent to its own accreditations.

    • Recognition of reviews carried out by foreign agencies: If the recognition procedure results in a positive outcome the institutional accreditation follows the normal HAC procedures.

    Read more: countries where higher education institutions may choose a suitable EQAR-registered agency

  • European Approach for Quality Assurance of Joint Programmes

    In Hungary the European Approach is available to higher education institutions.

    A joint programme where a Hungarian higher education institution is participating may be accredited though the use of the European Approach for the Quality of Joint Programmes. The joint programme shall be approved by law in the same way as if it was accredited by the national QA agency (HAC).

    Read more: countries where the European Approach is available to higher education institutions

Registered agencies operating in Hungary