National implementation of the European Approach

The European Approach was adopted by EHEA ministers in 2015. As a political commitment made in the Bologna Process, and not a legally binding agreement or treaty, it requires implementation at the national level. Depending on the country, legislative changes at different levels may thus be required to make the European Approach effectively available to higher education institutions.

The map below shows the EHEA countries in which the European Approach for Quality Assurance of Joint Programmes can be used by some or all higher education institutions. Please consult the information on each country for specific requirements, conditions or restrictions.

Please note that the map only shows those higher education systems in which institutions have a right to use the European Approach at their own choice, and this is laid down in official documentation. In some cases, institutions might also be able to use the European Approach on the basis of an individual, case-by-case agreement with their government or national quality assurance agency. Such arrangements are beyond the scope of this map.

image/svg+xml Map of the European Higher Education Area (EHEA) Map of the European Higher Education Area (EHEA) A blank map of the European Higher Education Area (EHEA) and countries fully surrounded by the EHEA. Every country has an id which is its ISO-3116-1-ALPHA2 code in lower case. Members of the EU have a class="eu", all EHEA countries have a class="europe", non-EHEA countries have a class="nonehea". Image based on by Júlio "Tintazul" Reis and Marian "maix" Sigler. Made by Colin Tück, EQAR, 2017 Released under CreativeCommons Attribution ShareAlike (

European Approach available to all higher education institutions

European Approach available to some higher education institutions or only under specific conditions

European Approach not available to higher education institutions