image/svg+xml Map of the European Higher Education Area (EHEA) Map of the European Higher Education Area (EHEA) A blank map of the European Higher Education Area (EHEA) and countries fully surrounded by the EHEA. Every country has an id which is its ISO-3116-1-ALPHA2 code in lower case. Members of the EU have a class="eu", all EHEA countries have a class="europe", non-EHEA countries have a class="nonehea". Image based on by Júlio "Tintazul" Reis and Marian "maix" Sigler. Made by Colin Tück, EQAR, 2017 Released under CreativeCommons Attribution ShareAlike (
  • Governmental membership
    Malta has been a Governmental Member of EQAR since February 2008.

    Read more: all Governmental Members of EQAR

  • General information on higher education

    Higher education in Malta is provided by:

    • Public tertiary education: University of Malta, the Malta Collage of Arts, Science and Technology, and the Institute of Tourism Studies Malta. 
    • Private higher education institutions 
  • National external quality assurance requirements

    Depending on the accreditation status, higher education institutions may be public self-accrediting institutions, licensed institutions or provisional licensed institutions who are working towards fulfilling all the requirements to obtain a regular licence.

    The National Commission for Further and Higher Education (NCFHE) is the responsible body for licensing, accreditation and quality assurance for further and higher education institutions in Malta.

    • Institutional audit
      All institutions, including self-accrediting ones, have to be reviewed and audited periodically by NCFHE as part of the External Quality Assurance process as defined by NCFHE.

    • Programme accreditation
      Education institutions (whether national, international, public or private) must have their programme audits approved by the National Commission for Further and Higher Education (NCFHE). Locally accredited courses currently do not have an accreditation expiry date. By exception, public institutions that have a 'self-accrediting status' established by NCFHE do not need to submit programmes for accreditation if these fall within the scope of the Malta Qualification Framework (MQF) level of their self-accrediting status. They would need to do so if they intend to provide programmes that exceed the MQF level of their self-accrediting status.

  • Cross-border quality assurance

    In Malta higher education institutions may choose a suitable EQAR-registered agency under certain conditions.

    Programme audits can be carried out directly by a panel experts appointed by NCFHE or by an EQAR-registered external agency.

    • Eligibility requirements for foreign agencies: Prior approval by the NCFHE is required for suitability, language proficiency, capacity and experience. The audit process and the terms of reference must be reviewed and approved by NCFHE before the audit process begins.

    • Conditions for the agencies’ work (e.g. criteria to be used): The external quality assurance agency has to follow the accreditation criteria set out in the national legislation governing further and higher education and, therefore, also all relevant regulations and communications issued by NCFHE.

    • Recognition of reviews carried out by foreign agencies: The final decision is taken by the NCFHE on the result of the accreditation procedure.

    Read more: countries where higher education institutions may choose a suitable EQAR-registered agency

  • European Approach for Quality Assurance of Joint Programmes

    In Malta the European Approach is available to higher education institutions.

    According to confirmation by the Ministry of Education, Youth and Employment, in case of joint programmes higher education institutions may opt for a programme audit by a suitable EQAR-registered agency, using the agreed standards of the European Approach.

    Read more: countries where the European Approach is available to higher education institutions

Registered agencies operating in Malta